COMTO {industry} awards honors transportation leaders for dedication to excellence throughout difficult instances

The Convention of Minority Transportation Officers (COMTO) honored 17 transportation leaders at its 2022 Business Awards Gala on July 11, throughout its Nationwide Assembly and Coaching Convention in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. 

The 2022 Business Awards have been introduced to people, firms, businesses, organizations and chapters who made excellent contributions to the transportation {industry} in 2021 at a time when the transportation {industry} and the world continued to grapple with disruption on account of COVID-19. Business Awards honorees come from all sectors and modes of transportation.

A few of this yr’s highlights included: 

  • The primary ever Civic Fairness Champion Award went to Olatunji Oboi Reed, president and CEO, the Equiticity Racial Fairness Motion primarily based in Chicago. 
  • COMTO Philadelphia took dwelling two awards for Greatest Group Engagement and Chapter of the 12 months.   
  • Jacobs gained Company of the 12 months for its native and nationwide contributions to COMTO, together with wide-spread worker engagement and participation within the group.   
  • Michigan Division of Transportation gained Public Company of the 12 months for its Variety, Fairness and Inclusion (DEI) accomplishments with Deprived Enterprise Enterprises (DBEs), small companies and Traditionally Black Faculties and Universities (HBCUs).  
  • Greer Johnson Gillis, senior vice chairman of system growth and capital applications, Jacksonville Transportation Authority, acquired the Thomas G. Neusom Founders’ Management Award, the group’s highest honor.  
  • Neil Pedersen, govt director, Nationwide Academies’ Transportation Analysis Board (TRB), acquired the President & CEO’s Award for Excellence for his contributions to COMTO and the {industry}.   

“The Business Awards Gala is all the time the proper ending to our Nationwide Assembly and Coaching Convention as we get to rejoice excellence in our {industry} and honor those that exemplify the COMTO mission and imaginative and prescient,” stated April Rai, president and CEO, COMTO. “Very similar to our convention theme which targeted on transferring ahead regardless of disruption, these people, firms, businesses, organizations and chapters went above and past throughout what was nonetheless a difficult time in our world to advance fairness within the transportation {industry} and our native communities. Congratulations to them in addition to all of our nominees.” 

The recipients of the 2022 Business Awards are:  

  • Rising Chief of the 12 months: Qiana McKoy, Variety Specialist, HNTB and Secretary, COMTO Atlanta  
  • Business Innovation Award: (Tie) Memphis Space Transit Authority (MATA) and Palm Tran (Palm Seaside County, Florida)  
  • Public Company of the 12 months: Michigan Division of Transportation  
  • Company of the 12 months: Jacobs  
  • Traditionally Underutilized Companies (HUB) Agency of The 12 months: Suzanne Arkle and ZANN Inc and Associates (Denver, Colorado)  
  • Gerald Anderson Member of the 12 months Award: Ryan Daniel, CEO, St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit Fee (Metro Bus) and President, Minnesota Public Transit Affiliation  
  • Civic Fairness Champion: Olatunji Oboi Reed, President & CEO, The Equiticity Racial Fairness Motion (Chicago, Illinois)  
  • Rev. Jerry Moore President’s Management Award: Christopher Macklin, DBE, Variety Compliance Specialist, Jacksonville Transportation Authority and President of COMTO Jacksonville (2018-2022)  
  • Thomas G. Neusom Founders’ Management Award: Greer Johnson Gillis, Senior Vice President of System Improvement and Capital Applications, Jacksonville Transportation Authority  
  • Greatest Group Engagement Award: COMTO Philadelphia  
  • Greatest Membership Recruitment & Retention Award: COMTO Miami  
  • Chapter of the 12 months Award: COMTO Philadelphia  
  • Chair’s Problem Award: COMTO Fort Lauderdale  
  • As well as, the President and CEO’s Awards for Excellence went to the next people for his or her contributions to COMTO and the transportation {industry}:  
  • Patricia Mosher, Senior Vice President, Director of Company Communications & Strategic Planning, HNTB  
  • Pamela Boswell, Vice President, Workforce Improvement & Instructional Providers, American Public Transportation Affiliation (APTA)  
  • Neil Pedersen, Govt Director, Nationwide Academies’ Transportation Analysis Board (TRB)  
  • Robert (Bob) Prince, President of Foot Prince and COMTO Board Chair (2012-2015)  

A whole listing of this yr’s awards, together with descriptions will be discovered on-line.

Next Post

How 3D printing helps auto {industry} take care of provide chain issues

Sun Jul 24 , 2022
Engineers engaged on the Tahoe modified the design of the spoiler on the higher a part of the automobile’s tailgate to make sure the massive SUV met its gasoline economic system certification numbers if examined by the EPA. The revamped spoiler required a brand new half, what GM calls a […]