Requirements

Illinois Car Insurance – Quotes, Coverage & Requirements

Car Insurance in Illinois

Illinois monitors car insurance statuses by sending insurance verification questionnaires on a random basis. Don’t be caught off guard.

Read more to learn about IL car insurance requirements, rates, and discounts.

IL Car Insurance Requirements

All drivers, even out-of-state drivers, are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle.

Driver’s of vehicles registered in Illinois must comply with Illinois car insurance laws. You must have BOTH:

  • Liability insurance.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage.

Liability Insurance

Liability insurance helps cover your costs associated with injuries or property damage to others resulting from a car accident you cause.

Your liability insurance must have the following minimum coverages:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total for bodily injury per accident.
  • $20,000 for property damage.

Liability insurance does not cover your own costs for personal injuries or property damage.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance

In Illinois, you must also carry

Read More

COVID-19: CA DMV waives late fees, delays registration requirements

The California Department of Motor Vehicles is waiving late fees and penalties for vehicle registration and ending expiring identification cards and temporary operating permits. 

Gov. Gavin Newsom signed an executive order on Wednesday that provides some relief to Californians amid the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Residents whose vehicle registration expires between March 16 and May 30 now have an additional 60 days to pay from the original expiration date. The department emphasized there will be no late fees and penalties. Temporary operating permits that expire on or after March 4 will also be valid for another 60 days. 

Additionally, ID cards that expire on or after March 4 will be valid through June 22. 

“These measures can help lighten the burden many Californians are experiencing during

Read More

Insurance Requirements for Maryland Vehicles


Bookmark and Share

Print This Page

Insurance Requirements for Maryland Vehicles

Did you know Maryland is a mandatory vehicle insurance state? What does this mean for you? 

 

 

In order to register your vehicle in Maryland you must have liability insurance. How do you know if you have the adequate amount of coverage?

 

1.  All Maryland vehicles MUST be insured at ALL times by a vehicle insurance company licensed in Maryland. Your vehicle insurance must cover, at a minimum:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury
  • $60,000 for 2 or more people
  • $15,000 property damage

 

For a Transportation network company who is an affiliate of a company that provides taxicab services with no fewer than 26 nor more than 300 transportation network operators. Your vehicle insurance must cover, at minimum:

  • $50,000 for bodily injury
  • $100,000 for 2 or more people
  • $25,000 for property damage

 

2.  Return your license plates to any MVA branch office before you cancel your vehicle insurance.

Read More

Bicycle Requirements Business Guidance | CPSC.gov

What is the purpose of the requirements for bicycles?

This regulation increases the safety of bicycles by establishing, among other things, requirements for assembly, braking, protrusions, structural integrity and reflectors. Bicycles that fail any of the requirements are banned under the Federal Hazardous Substances Act.

 

Where can I find the requirements for bicycles?

The requirements are in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) in Title 16, Part 1512.

 

What is a bicycle?

A bicycle is defined in §1512.2 as either (1) a two-wheeled vehicle having a rear drive wheel solely human-powered; or (2) a two- or three-wheeled vehicle with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts (1 h.p.), whose maximum speed on a paved level surface, when powered solely by such a motor while ridden by an operator who weighs 170 pounds, is less than 20 mph.

 

The bicycle requirements cover two different types of

Read More